Fantasy

Book Review: Beauty by Robin McKinley

physical book of Beauty by Robin McKinley
My beaten, battered copy of Beauty.

Title: Beauty
Author: Robin McKinley
Publisher: Harper Teen
Length: 325, paperback
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4/5 folded pages

Blurb:

Beauty has never liked her nickname. She is thin and awkward; it is her two sisters who are the beautiful ones. But what she lack in looks, she can perhaps make up for in courage.

When her father comes home with the tale of an enchanted castle in the forest and the terrible promise he had to make to the Beast who lives there, Beauty knows she must go to the castle, a prisoner of her own free will. Her father protests that he will not let her go, but she answers, “Cannot a beast be tamed?”

Robin Mckinley’s Beloved telling illuminates the unusual love story of a most unlikely couple: Beauty and the Beast.

Review:

As I decided to start this blog, I thought it would only be fitting if the first review is one of my all time favorites. It was hard to sit down and re-read the book objectively. I tried stopping myself from transporting back to when I was an angsty teenager and this fantasy world helped me escape with some success.

I don’t know why, but I’ve always fancied that Beauty was set in the same universe as Howl’s Moving Castle. Totally preposterous, but I think it’s an interesting thought and lends itself to how the book feels when reading. If you’ve ever read or watched Howl’s Moving Castle and enjoyed it I think you’d enjoy this book as well.

Considering I labeled this as my all time favorite, you may be wondering why I’ve only given it ⅘ folded pages. As much as I love the story and the way McKinley brings a fresh but classic view on the age old tale, I did find some spots rather lacking. There were a few typos that I find shouldn’t have been so easily passed up. I also think the ending, though satisfying, needed more. More explanation, more oomph, more something.

Overall, it’s still my favorite book. It has flaws but I love that the story is both classic and unique.

Join the discussion!

