graphic novel, new adult, science fiction, scifi

Graphic Novel Review: Saga Volumes 1 and 2

Saga volumes 1 and 2

Title: Saga Volumes 1 and 2
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Illustrator: Fiona Staples
Publisher: Image Comics
Length: 160 and 144
Genre: New Adult, Graphic Novel, Science Fiction
Rating: 4 Folded pages for both volumes

Summary:
Landfall and it’s moon, Wreath, have always been at war. Instead of fighting on their own planets the opposing sides take proxy planets to fight wars on. The story follows a star crossed couple and their baby.

Review:
I’m really enjoying this graphic novel series so far. Volumes one and two were equally exciting. Although the child of the couple is still in infancy, she narrates the story as if she’s telling the story while you read the action. It’s extremely interesting.

That being said, I did feel like there’s something missing. I can’t really put my finger on it but some of the plot falls a little flat. I think it might be the freelancer plot which I won’t go into so I don’t give any spoilers. I just find myself kind of bored when the story veers away from the main couple.

The artwork is absolutely beautiful. I am a bit of a snob when it comes to the art in graphic novels, comics, or manga and Staples beautiful character design and color usage definitely meets my standards.

I’m excited to see where Vaughan and Staples take this beautiful space drama. I’m glad the New Adult genre is becoming more popular. Saga was an impulse grab at the library today and I’m definitely not sorry. Now I just wish my library had the other volumes!

3 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review: Saga Volumes 1 and 2”

Join the discussion!

