unpopular opinion

Unpopular Opinion: Broken In Books [2]

unpop opinion 2Percy Jackson and the Olympian Series

There is nothing better than buying a brand new book. The pages are perfect, the spine is absolutely pristine, and we can’t forget that new book smell. When it’s in this condition, it’s like the book is waiting in anticipation to be picked up and read. I can’t deny loving to buy new books. I love everything about a new book. However, I don’t exactly want my books to stay that way.

Most people try to keep their books in this pristine condition and more power to them if that’s what they want. But I enjoy a truly battered book. All of my favorite books have the spines broken bringing up those familiar white lines. They have folded pages and corners of spots that I want to keep coming back to. They already have that old book smell you get with library books over 15 years old but my book is only about 7. Books that have been broken in feel like old friends when I pick them up. They are familiar in my hands and they bring me back to the joy (or sorrow, or wonderment) I felt when first picking up the book.

UO2 03

A new book is full of anticipation. Will it be good? Will I like the characters? Will I enjoy this author’s writing style? But a beaten in, old book holds a story you know you love. You can find details you don’t remember, or maybe you’re like me and you tend to skip ahead when the suspense is too much so you’ve missed entire pages.

If my book is pristine on my shelf that means I didn’t love it enough to reread it. It means I don’t keep coming back to that book and I think nothing is sadder than a forgotten book still pristine on my shelf. Sometimes I just haven’t had time yet, or the book is new because my old one fell apart so much that I was no longer able to read it (IE my brand new Harry Potter collection). And sometimes I got the book from the library and just recently picked it up for my own collection. Either way, the books I own will all eventually have broken spines and folded pages and I couldn’t be happier about it.

3 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion: Broken In Books [2]”

  1. I know what you mean! Most of my loved books have broken spines as well. It is really just uncomfortable for me to read without breaking the spine, it’s such a hassle. Haha. Also, I love sharing my books and letting friends borrow them. And of course, I recommend the books I love. When I get them battered, I don’t mind – for me it is just another evidence of someone experiencing the book and that’s a good thing. (However, no one likes pages torn and stuff. I just like to break the spine. :P)

    Like

    1. Definitely. Torn pages are a no. But you’d be surprised how many people I know and have met that absolute loathe any kind of damage on their books. Going so far as to buy new ones if a corner gets a little bent. It’s madness! I’m glad you understand where I’m coming from. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I have a few friends who has 2 copies of books they love! One for reading, and one for display on their shelves.. I guess it is just different for every reader. 🙂

        Like

Join the discussion!

