Fantasy, young adult

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Length: 432, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating: 4.5 Folded Pages

Blurb:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.
The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Review:

I absolutely adored this book. So much so that I couldn’t put it down. I finished it in less than 24 hours of starting it. Maas as said that Throne of Glass is loosely based on Cinderella but I had gone into this expecting a fairytale retelling more or less. To clear things up, it is VERY loosely based on Cinderella and I am A-Okay with this.

Celaena is a wonderfully 3D character. She has badass moments but she also is quick to anger and can’t keep her cool. She’s not perfect and I absolutely love that about her. Too often heroines have no flaws aside from being too pretty or too badass and I’m glad to have a character that is badass but also still a young female who has normal emotions and thoughts. As a side note, Maas even makes sure to mention Celaena getting her period and how it affects her which is an absolute first for me in any novel I’ve read and absolutely amazing.

I enjoyed the side characters as well. Chaol (which will forever be pronounced Cha-ol for me and not Kay-all as the pronunciation guide suggests) had an understandable standpoint even if he did seem a bit unfair. Dorian although the epitome of the “I’m nice despite my parentage” troupe still has other aspects that make his character believable like his arrogance.

The one thing that makes me give this 4.5 instead of 5 stars is that sometimes I had a hard time believing Celaena was really an assassin. I understand that she had been locked away basically dying for a year and that she is still a young girl. But some parts I found myself absolutely flabbergasted she couldn’t recognize or react as someone who has been a trained assassin for 10 years.

I absolutely adored this book while reading and I’m super excited to get to the next one. I’m glad the hype around this book didn’t disappoint me!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas”

Join the discussion!

