graphic novel, mystery, young adult

Graphic Novel Review: Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson Art by Adrian Alphona

Ms Marvel graphic novel

Title: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal
Author: G. Willow Wilson Art by Adrian Alphona
Publisher: Marvel
Length: 120, Paperback
Genre: Graphic Novel, Young Adult, Mystery
Rating: 3 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Marvel Comics presents the all-new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation! Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City – until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! As Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to handle? Kamala has no idea either. But she’s comin’ for you, New York! It’s history in the making from acclaimed writer G. Willow Wilson (Air, Cairo) and beloved artist Adrian Alphona (Runaways)!

Review:
Ms. Marvel is a graphic novel that is sorely needed. It features a female lead, who is ethnically diverse with a cast that is just as different. That being said, I just don’t think this graphic novel was for me. I wish I had read this novel when I was still in high school.

Kamala is an amazingly real teenage girl and I think that’s why I’m annoyed with her. I’m no longer a teenage girl and though most times I can relate to them in novels this time I just found her annoying. I know I would have loved this graphic novel had I still been in high school and it breaks my heart that I can’t give it a killer review.

I love how diverse the cast is and doesn’t play heavily into stereotypes. All the teenagers act and feel like teenagers and although I find that annoying I also understand that it’s targeted at teenagers and I think it does an excellent job.

The artwork is also nicely done. I enjoy the simple but colorful style. It feels very classic Marvel and I appreciate that. I like that the traditional garb worn by Kamala’s friend and family is accurate and not exaggerated.

Although I personally didn’t enjoy this, I strongly believe it was mostly because of my age. I hope young girls in middle or high school read this and enjoy it. I wish I had this graphic novel when I was that age because I know it probably would have made a world of difference.

1 thought on “Graphic Novel Review: Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson Art by Adrian Alphona”

Join the discussion!

