new adult, science fiction, scifi

Graphic Novel Review: Saga Volumes 3 and 4 by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples

wpid-20150611_202158-1.jpg

Title: Saga Volume 3 and Volume 4
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Illustrator: Fiona Staples
Publisher: Image Comics
Length: 144 and 144
Genre: New Adult, Graphic Novel, Science Fiction
Rating: 3 Folded pages for both volumes

Click here to see my review of Volumes 1 and 2!

Summary:
Landfall and it’s moon, Wreath, have always been at war. Instead of fighting on their own planets the opposing sides take proxy planets to fight wars on. The story follows a star crossed couple and their baby.

Review:
If you read my first Saga review, then you know I absolutely adored Volumes 1 and 2, which makes me say sad to say that Volumes 3 and 4 didn’t really do it for me. I still loved the characters and artwork but it felt more like filler than story. I can honestly say I’m not sure what happened to progress the story in these two volumes.

Sequels are always hard but I find that normally graphic novels have an easier time because the story is spread out by the artwork. It’s expected that graphic novels have several volumes. However, I think Saga is struggling to keep the story going. Both volumes were mostly unexplained action that became boring fast. The two volumes did set up the next volume to be nicely packed with both action and story so I’m excited and hopeful.

Because I was so disappointed with these volumes I can only give them 3 folded pages which honestly saddens me because we need more graphic novels (or even regular novels) with the kind of diversity and themes that Saga has.

4 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review: Saga Volumes 3 and 4 by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples”

Join the discussion!

