Fairytale Retelling, Fantasy, young adult

Book Review: East by Edith Pattou

East by Edith Pattou

Title: East
Author: Edith Pattou
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Length: 528, Paperback
Genre: Fantasy, Fairytale Retelling, Young Adult
Rating: 4.5 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale “East of the Sun and West of the Moon,” told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Review:
Since starting this blog, I have done many rereads (and plan to do many more). I forget so much of what happens in books I read in middle school or high school and it’s been a good experience mostly. East by Edith Pattou has been one of my favorite rereads thus far. Then again all I could remember was the vague notion of ice, a polar bear, and the fact that I really liked it.

East is a retelling of “East of the Sun, West of the Moon” just like Ice (click to read that review) that I read a few weeks ago. And although I enjoyed Ice, it definitely didn’t capture me the way East has.

Rose is such a dynamic, flawed character that she’s hard not to love. She knows who she is and she doesn’t try to change when others are so eager for her to be someone besides herself. She’s very headstrong and very likeable. Unlike Cassie, who was headstrong but about the wrong things, and generally unlikeable for me.

East is told from several different views, either Rose or people around Rose. Although I normally don’t enjoy books with jumping perspectives Pattou has done an excellent job of not making the narrative feel choppy.

I do have to say that while I thoroughly loved this book and found it hard to put down, it did have some slow points that could be a little hard to push through. Which is the only reason this book gets 4.5 folded pages and not 5.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: East by Edith Pattou”

Join the discussion!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s