unpopular opinion

Unpopular Opinion: Classics [3]

unpop opinion 3I’m just going to come out and say. I don’t like classics. There. It’s out in the opinion. Everyone breathe. It’s going to be okay. (I’m not sure if I’m saying it more to myself or to others).

I like a few classics. Pride and Prejudice. Jane Eyre. Fahrenheit 451. But for the most part I can’t stand them. They’re hard to read and there’s usually way to much exposition. This is a post inspired by my current attempt to tackle 1984 by George Orwell. I love the premise. It’s totally my kind of thing. But the way it’s written makes me hate it. I may have majored in English but classics will never be my thing. There’s a reason I went the Professional Writing route and not the Literature route.

I feel better having got this off my chest. I think the book community goes on and on about classics and it makes people like me feel a little left out and judged. (Though I’m speaking generally). I don’t quite get The Great Gatsby craze though I didn’t hate the book. And I’ll never be able to get through A Tale of Two Cities fully now that I’m not forced to. (Who am I kidding I didn’t even when I was forced to). Let’s not forget how much I hated To Kill a Mockingbird BOTH times I had to read it. And it’s okay!

Now I throw it to you. Do you like classics? Why do you love them? Why do you dislike them? I’m curious as to what others think of classics or if it’s really just me alone on this island of general dislike.

4 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion: Classics [3]”

  1. I loathe The Great Gatsby. I know people go on and on about it saying it’s The Great American Novel, but I hated reading it for class. Couldn’t stand the characters and did not like the writing, so I never read another Fitzgerald novel.

    I’m not a huge classics fan either, so I’m glad to know there’s someone out there who shares this opinion. Sort of laboured through stuff like Great Expectations, Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, but those are not books that I’d fancy for second reads. For some reason I could never get into Jane Austen’s novels, and never bothered with Catcher in the Rye. Little Women was okay and I did like To Kill A Mockingbird, so I might actually check out Harper Lee’s new book when it’s out in paperback.

    P.S: I found you from The Fangirl Verdict šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I’m glad you found me! It’s very refreshing to know that others don’t like the classics. I found the Great Gatsby superrrr boring. I think the only reason I like some of Jane Austen’s stuff and Jane Eyre is because I tend to like things with long drawn out romances. lol.

      Like

  2. Can’t say the classics ever really appealed to me either! They have never really captured me the way modern authors do, but I think thats a relevancy issue rather than their writing style (for me anyway). And you really hit the nail on the head: I always feel a little uncultured when people mention they loved this classic or that classic and I’m like… so anyone read this YA Dystopian novel?? Haha that’s much more my thing that classics. Thanks for the good post and for making the rest of us uncultured ones feel a little better šŸ˜‰

    Like

Join the discussion!

