contemporary, romance, young adult

Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss By Stephanie Perkins

wpid-20150715_184623-1.jpg

Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Publisher: Speak
Length: 400, Paperback
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Rating: 3.5 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Anna can’t wait for her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a good job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s not too thrilled when her father unexpectedly ships her off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair, the perfect boy. The only problem? He’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her crush back home. Will a year of romantic near-misses end in the French kiss Anna awaits?

Review:
Honestly, I’m still not sure of my feelings for this novel. On one hand I really enjoyed it. It had me smiling and laughing and tearing up. On the other hand, I HATE that guy saves all crap.

I have a hard time rating this one. Half of me just wants to enjoy it for what it is but the other half me of knows this is why girls tend to half unrealistic expectations. I think I’m going to go with the first half because by now, I hope, most girls know that this isn’t how dating and romance really works even if it is fun to read.

I really liked Anna. She could be a bit annoying and she was definitely obtuse but I could see bits of myself in her and that’s what I love in main characters. She was relatable. St. Clair was also super relatable and I enjoyed all the moment Perkins set up between them.

However, I wish we had more moments between Anna and Meridith, or Anna and Rashmi, or hell even St. Clair and Meredith. I feel like certain plot points dropped out of no where because we didn’t really see a lot of interaction between people other than Anna and St. Clair. We had a few scenes here or there but I would have liked a bit more time to know the other characters and without it the characters fall a little flat.

I wish I could say I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did because there are definitely some points where I was WTFing. I’m going to read the other books in this loose series and hope that the message held within them is better.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss By Stephanie Perkins”

  1. These books sound absolutely adorable, will definitely have to pick it up despite the WTF points you mentioned. Great review!

    Like

Join the discussion!

