www wednesday

WWW Wednesday #3 (7/22/15)

Hello again. Guess what day it is????

This meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words but was originally hosted on Should Be Reading. To do the meme answer these three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


What are you currently reading?

boxers and siantsAs of right now, I’m in the middle of Boxers from the Boxers & Saints Duology. They’re graphic novels one is about a village boy who fights against foreigners who are bullying native people and the other is a parallel of a village girl who is saved because foreigners come and spread Christianity giving her something to do. So far it’s kind of eh for me. I’m hoping it gets better.

I’m also reading Soulless by Gail Carriger. So far I LOVE this book. At first I was a little weary. I thought Alexia would kind of annoy me but so far I’ve really loved her and I’m excited to continue reading.

I’m still in the midst of 1984 as well. I have such a hard time pushing through classics. It’s good but I just can’t read it the way I normally do and I don’t like that. I’m still going to finish it but it’s slow goings.

I’ve also started reading The Pact by Karina Hale. I have a lot of spare time at work so I’ve been kind of cycling through ebooks. I’m find my current ebooks hard to read more than a few chapters at once so it’s nice a lot of options. So far I’m liking this one. I hope it stays that way.

I’ve also started rereading The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith. I’ve been meaning to reread this for a while.vamp diaries I read it way before the TV show came out but now I’m reading it as part of my 2015 challenge for a series adapted to movie or TV. So far I’m not impressed. I don’t like it nearly as much as I did when I was 15ish. And I think my age might have something to do with that.

I’ve also put Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken on hold. For some reason I just can’t get into it. I can’t tell if I’m just not in the mood for what it’s offering of if my disdain for how the characters have changed from book 1 to book 2 is legitimate. If that’s the case I’ll have to find a new series to put towards my trilogy on my 2015 reading challenge. I’m going to keep trying (kinda) but if by the end of August I haven’t finished it I think I’ll DNF.

What did you recently finish?

I recently finished:

Sadly I didn’t read nearly as much as I have been. I’ve been super busy and recently the books I’ve been picking up I haven’t been feeling or it’s slow for me to read through.

What do you plan on reading?

As for the past two WWW Wednesdays, I want to read Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen soon and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I also plan to start A Really Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. I’ve heard good things about it and it is relatively short even if the book is the size of a 3 subject star spiral notebook.

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #3 (7/22/15)”

    1. Maker’s Breath! Yes. I’m at that exact part in 1984 right now and I want to claw my eyes out. I’m forcing myself through it but it’s definitely slow. I’m glad to hear more praises for Bill Bryson. The book looks really fascinating and I love history so I’m excited to get to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I actually liked The Vampire Diaries books and didn’t like the TV series (cuz I shipped Stefan and Elena, haha). I agree the books don’t seem to age well, but for what it was worth, they were pretty decent.

    Wuthering Heights… very, very heavy. As for my current reading, I’m reading Timur Vermes’ Look Who’s Back, it’s quite funny.

    Like

    1. I figured Wuthering heights would be heavy. I think I’m kind of in the mood for an old timey romance. I’ve never actually seen the vampire diaries show. I just read the first four books when they had those double volumes released. Hopefully it will get better. Lol

      Like

      1. I watched a little of the first season, but wasn’t particularly hooked although I did like the actors who played Stefan and Damon. It seems the storyline has morphed into something quite different, so I just gave up after a while. I also read the first four books, but didn’t continue with the rest.

        Like

  2. Hm, Soulless seems like an interesting book! I think I’m going to check that out. And I’m liking the sound of The Pact & The Name of the Star, I just added both to my TBR. Saint Anything is on my TBR as well (I love Sarah Dessen) so I hope you enjoy it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

