coming of age, new adult, romance

Book Review: Unlit Star by Lindy Zart

unlit star

Title: Unlit Star
Author: Lindy Zart
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Length: 299, Kindle Book
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Coming of Age
Rating: 1 folded page

Blurb:
We are not guaranteed anything, not even this life.

Rivers Young is the popular guy untouchable by reality. He is like a star—bright, consuming, otherworldly. The thing about stars, though, is that they eventually fall, and he is no different.

He falls far and he falls hard.

Delilah Bana is the outcast enshrouded in all of life’s ironies. Alone, in the dark, like dusk as it falls on the world. When Rivers hits the ground, she is the night that catches him. In the darkness, they meld into something beautiful that shines like the sun.

Only, the greater the star is, the shorter its lifespan.

Review:
I’m pretty sure Zart tried just a little too hard to make Delilah a special snowflake and not hard enough to give Rivers a real personality. I have a hard time sugar coating my dislike (or like when that happens) for things and especially for books. I have no qualms in saying I didn’t enjoy this book at all. I actually got about halfway through before deciding that I couldn’t read another word and that I wasn’t enjoying the book in the least.

The plot was interesting enough. Loner girl ends up babysitting cool jock after a horrid accident left him “deformed” and unable to walk well and stuff ensues. Normally I would love a book like this. It screams my name! If only the characters weren’t so annoying. Delilah is all about being herself and doing what she wants when she wants and blah blah blah. Honestly, I was so bored with her straight forward personality when I was only 25% of the way in.

At that point, Rivers’ was still kind of mysterious so I decided to try and stick it out to see if it would get better. But once Rivers wasn’t mysterious he simply didn’t have a personality outside of Delilah. It was frustrating. I kept reading to see if maybe the rest of the plot would work out interestingly because they were together and happy by the 50% mark.

Delilah kept hinting at not living past the summer and her relationship with her mother isn’t good. And for a fraction of a second I was slightly curious about these things. But the way Zart pushed them made me feel less and less curious and more and more annoyed that we didn’t have answers yet.
I think this novel could have made a good novella. I probably would have finished it if it were shorter and we were given answers sooner. But with characters like this and a plot I didn’t have any investment in I dropped it. This novel has pretty great reviews on Amazon so I’m disappointed.

1 thought on “Book Review: Unlit Star by Lindy Zart”

Join the discussion!

