unpopular opinion

Unpopular Opinion: Series [4]

unpop opinion 4paperbacksOnce again it’s time for an unpopular opinion (or maybe I just think it’s an unpopular opinion) either way here it goes. I don’t much like series. I mean obviously I like some. But I’m getting sick of almost everything I pick up being a series. It’s so hard to find a good stand alone these days unless it’s a contemporary. I want an awesome sci-fi fantasy stand alone. Or a young adult fantasy stand alone.

I enjoy series. But sometimes you just don’t want that commitment and everything these days is being turned into more than one book even if it really shouldn’t be.

What’s your take on it? Do you like that everything has become a series? Or maybe my vision is warped. Feel free to tell me. I’m curious if I’m the only one who’s bothered by this.

4 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion: Series [4]”

  1. I don’t think your vision is warped!

    I’m steering clear of series for a while because once I start one, I have to finish it, even if I’m not that into it. And this keeps me away from other stand alones for too long! I think you’re right that it’s becoming endemic in YA fantasy and sci-fi. I start to wonder if editors are pressuring authors into drawing their ideas out over several books just to make more money…

    Like

  2. Great post!! I love the idea of series, as it allows fantasy worlds to become so much more developed and I get to spend more time with my favourite characters. However, I confess I DNF series a lot cos I lose interest waiting in between books.

    Like

Join the discussion!

