classic, science fiction, scifi

Book Review: 1984 by George Orwell

1984

Title: 1984
Author: George Orwell
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Length: 668, Kindle book
Genre: Classic, Science Fiction
Rating: 3 Folded pages

Blurb:
In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind. Winston is a man in grave danger for the simple reason that his memory still functions. Drawn into a forbidden love affair, Winston finds the courage to join a secret revolutionary organization called The Brotherhood, dedicated to the destruction of the Party. Together with his beloved Julia, he hazards his life in a deadly match against the powers that be.

Review:
I finally finished it! Albeit, with a lot more skimming/skipping than I should have but honestly who can legitimately get through that long treatise from The Book? Because I certainly couldn’t. I would have quit the book entirely if I didn’t skip through it.

That being said I did enjoy the last part. The action finally kicked up and it wasn’t endless exposition. The book itself poses so many ideas to think about and I see why this is a classic but I still disliked the first two parts immensely. I was bored and I kept having to force myself through but it is no secret that I am not a big fan of classics. I want to read for fun and forcing myself through long winded and boring exposition is definitely not my idea of fun.

I do feel like I learned something from reading it though and I’m glad I did. I’m just also glad I’m done reading it. There isn’t much I can say considering it’s a classic. I’m glad it’s over and at least it’s given a few things to think about in the meantime.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: 1984 by George Orwell”

  1. My dad keeps telling me to read this book – said it’ll open my mind *rolls eyes*. I don’t know whether I’d be able to get through that many pages either though! Might have to save it till I’m older…

    Like

  2. Everyone skims the treatise on the proletariat – otherwise they’d fall asleep! 🙂
    And you’re right, 1984 is a thought-provoking rather than enjoyable read. And at least now you don’t have to read it again! 😉

    Like

  3. I’ve always felt this should be required reading for civilization. The message is timeless and perfectly conveyed. This is great! Thanks so much for sharing!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    Like

Join the discussion!

