Fantasy, romance, young adult

Book Review: The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith

vamp diaries

Title: Vampire Diaries: The Awakening
Author: L. J. Smith
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 324 pages, Kindle Book
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Rating: 2 Folded Pages

Blurb:
A deadly love triangle
Elena: beautiful and popular, the girl who can have any guy she wants.
Stefan: brooding and mysterious, desperately trying to resist his desire for Elena . . . for her own good.
Damon: sexy, dangerous, and driven by an urge for revenge against Stefan, the brother who betrayed him.
Elena finds herself drawn to both brothers . . . who will she choose?

Review:
I’m pretty sure the only reason I’m giving this two folded pages is because I actually finished it instead of DNFing it. I understand why I loved this series when it first came out (the same way I understand why I loved Twilight when it came out) but now I can barely stomach it.

The worst part of it honestly is the Instalove. I could handle just about anything else if it wasn’t for the instalove. It’s just not fun or cute. It’s creepy and not what girl’s expectations for meeting boys should be like.

Aside from that Elena’s personality is extremely vapid and unreal. I kept rolling my eyes as I was reading both diary and inner dialogue. It almost physically hurt to read it and Stefan had no personality what-so-ever aside from man pain.

My younger self loved basically anything to do with vampire romance and I have no shame in that. But needless to say I will not be devouring the rest of these books like I did when I was 12.

1 thought on “Book Review: The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith”

Join the discussion!

