new adult, romance

Book Review: Getting Lucky Number Seven by Cindi Madsen

Title: Getting Lucky Number Seven
Author: Cindi Madsen
Publisher: Macmillan
Length: 272, Kindle Book
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Rating: 4 Folded Pages

WARNING!!: This novel is not intended for audiences under 18.

Blurb:
What’s your lucky number?

Lyla Wilder is done being the shy, chemistry nerd extraordinaire. While every other college student is out having fun, Lyla is studying. With her cat. Well, she’s played it “safe” quite enough, thank you. So she creates a “College Bucket List” with item #7 being a night of uninhibited, mind-blowing sex…

But she needs some help from her man-whore best friend.

Hockey player Beck Davenport thought Lyla’s transformation would be subtle. Man, was he wrong. With every item she ticks off, Beck finds himself growing seriously hot for his sweet, brainiac best friend. And if he’s not careful, he’ll end up risking their friendship in order to convince Lyla that he might just be her lucky #7…

Review:
Finally! A New Adult romance I really enjoyed. I didn’t have many problems with this one at all and I really enjoyed the characters. The plot was also super interesting.

I think the biggest factor in me liking this book is that Lyla is a lot like myself. Except when I realized I was kind of missing out on the college experience I shrugged and went back to what Korean Drama I was watching at the moment. Lyla decided to DO something and I kind of envy her for that.

My favorite part of the book honestly was all the lame chemistry jokes Lyla and Beck would make. They made me crack up and grin like crazy. I’m pretty sure the people at my office thought I was crazy.

Their romance also felt very real. All the ups and downs felt like they would happen in life. It didn’t feel staged or unrealistic like some novels I’ve been reading lately.

That being said, I do think some parts dragged a little more than need be and some of the sex scenes felt a little unnecessary like they were just there to fill space. Aside from that I really loved this one and I’m glad I happened upon it.

1 thought on “Book Review: Getting Lucky Number Seven by Cindi Madsen”

Join the discussion!

