unpopular opinion

Unpopular Opinion: ARCs [5]

unpop opinion 5

I’ve noticed recently that this month is considered ARC August. In preparation I decided to try using NetGalley for the first time. I have to say I don’t think ARCs are for me.

For those that don’t know, ARC stands for Advanced Reader Copy. It’s basically a chance for readers to read and review a book before it’s actually published. NetGalley is a new (I think) website that allows publishers to get ARCs to a lot of people via ebook. In the past, ARCs were sent in physical form by the publisher (and sometimes still are).

Onto why I don’t think ARCs are for me. The biggest reason is that I mostly read my Kindle books on the browser version. (read.amazon.com in case any were curious) and much to my dismay I’ve found that ARCs from NetGalley can’t be read in the browser version.You can only read NetGalley ARCs through actually apps like the phone app or on the Kindle itself. I just don’t have time for that.

The other thing, is I HATE having pressure to read. It’s the surest way to get me into a reading slump. The few ARCs I decided to try for from NetGalley have been putting pressure on me like no other. I feel like I have to read the ARCs ASAP so I don’t end up missing the publish date.

I think I might like physical copy ARCs better than ebook copies but I’m not sure I’ll find that out any time soon.

Do you like ARCs? Do you enjoy Netgalley? Start a discussion below. I want to know your thoughts on the matter. Am I the only one who has this opinion?

1 thought on “Unpopular Opinion: ARCs [5]”

  1. I have never tried Netgalley, but I’ve considered using it for sending out ARCs. Honestly, I haven’t read that many positive things about it from a self-publisher stand point. It’s pricey and sometimes the reviewers either don’t review the eBook, or leave bad reviews because it’s something they wouldn’t ordinarily read. I do see the desire for a one-stop place for passing out ARCs, but like you I don’t know if Netgalley is the right way :/

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

