classic, romance

Audiobook Review: Persuasion by Jane Austen

Title: Persuasion
Author: Jane Austen
Narrator: Juliet Stevenson
Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks
Length: 8 hours 47 minutes
Genre: Classic, romance
Rating: 4.5 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Anne Elliot has grieved for seven years over the loss of her first love, Captain Frederick Wentworth. But events conspire to unravel the knots of deceit and misunderstanding in this beguiling and gently comic story of love and fidelity.

Review:
Anne Elliot is the type of person I want to be and also want in a best friend. I like how down to Earth and loyal she is. And I think so far she’s my favorite character of any Austen novel I love Miss Elizabeth Bennet but she can be a bit grating which I don’t find at all with Anne.

Juliet Stevenson did an amazing job bringing this novel to life as well. I’ve read this before but I didn’t quite understand it the way I did when Stevenson narrated it. Her inflections and pace are amazing. The only thing I have to say is that I feel like chapter ends are abrupt because she narrates like the chapter is continuing. But I only noticed that 2 or 3 times.

I really enjoyed the way the romance played out in the book. Everything was done subtly. There were no grand gestures or over the top romantic lines. The romance perfectly suited Anne’s personality.

I think as far as Austen novels go, I’m going to have a hard time choosing the order of my liking. Pride and Prejudice (so far) has my number 1 but it’s a close fight for 2nd between Persuasion and Sense and Sensibility.

6 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Persuasion by Jane Austen”

Join the discussion!

