classic, romance

Audiobook Review: Emma by Jane Austen

Title: Emma
Author: Jane Austen
Narrator: Juliet Stevenson
Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks
Length: 16 hours and 38 minutes
Genre: romance, classic
Rating: 3.5 Folded Pages

Blurb (from Audible):
One of Jane Austen’s most popular novels. Arrogant, self-willed, and egotistical, Emma is her most unusual heroine.

Review:
Decidedly, Emma is my least favorite Jane Austen novel that I’ve read. It’s taken several tries to actually get through it (thank god for audiobooks tbh) and I finally have. I definitely like the book the more than any of the adaptations I’ve seen (2009 BBC Emma and Emma Approved) but I still find Emma completely unlikable.

For the most part, Emma annoys the ever living shit out of me. She’s bratty and conceited and can’t see the consequence of her actions before she acts. Frank Churchill also makes all these traits worse.

I did love seeing her character growth but she’s just less of those things. The only saving grace is Knightley who I honestly love as much if not almost more than Darcy. I love that he can see Emma’s flaws and loves her anyway.

Still I did enjoy listening to the book. I think the adaptations of the book present a much harsher Emma than the book does. I understand the need to get the point across about her character in not book form but still I see why I was turned off the book for so long.

As usual, Juliet Stevenson did an absolutely amazing job with the narration. I’m sad that the Naxos version of Pride and Prejudice isn’t narrated by Juliet Stevenson because she does such an excellent job.

5 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Emma by Jane Austen”

  1. You know, I think I might love Knightley more than Darcy too. Perhaps because, like you say, a man capable of loving someone as downright annoying as Emma must be a saint. Whereas I like Lizzy Bennett, so can understand why Darcy loves her.
    The best thing anyone ever did with Emma was adapt it into the movie Clueless, which is still hands down the best adaptation of it ever 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

