fun fact friday

Fun Fact Friday [4]

Welcome to the newest series on my blog! Fun Fact Friday!! I want to give my wonderful followers a chance to know me better (and for me to know you better) so welcome!!!

fun fact friday

This new series will occur every Friday and will feature Fun Facts about me. At the end I will also pose a question or questions to you guys that will relate to my fun fact so I can get to know you better. Feel free join Fun Fact Friday on your own blog and post a link below!!

I’d also like to say sorry for being kind of absent this week. I got some bad news at work which is making me too anxious to focus on things. But never fear I am not going anywhere. πŸ™‚


This week’s Fun Fact:Β I hope to work for Simon & Schuster Publishing someday while also writing my own novels.

I suppose it comes as no surprise that my ultimate dream is writing novels. But part of that dream is also having the day job of helping others write their novels. My dream publishing company is Simon & Schuster and it has been since I was about 12. S&S has published so many of my favorite novels. I’ve applied to S&S several times but I need more experience. I will get there someday.

I learned early that writing (for most people) isn’t their day job. Even for relatively successful authors. Book deals are rare and I don’t want to rely on writing to be my main source of income. I love the entire book writing process from conceiving an idea to the final editing touches and I want to be apart of that process both for myself and others.

Also nothing irritates me more than seeing typos and grammar mistakes in published works. That’s what made me want to go into editing in general. I get irrationally angry when a book (published by a company that is) is published with typos. There should be people there to catch that. And I know to err is human but I also think that fresh eyes (coughmyeyescough) could help.

Today’s post is a little job centric I know. But currently I work as a temp and I’m trying to find a permanent job hopefully in my field of study so jobs are on the mind.


What’s your dream job? Why do you want to do it?

5 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday [4]”

  1. Same pinch… πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    We share the same dream although I don’t have a particular company in mind. I’ll be too happy only to be working with a publishing firm because my “degree” in question won’t be landing me that job. πŸ˜›

    Like

Join the discussion!

