science fiction, scifi

Book Review: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

wpid-20150717_194018-1.jpg
Featuring Channie (my cat) staring into the distance

Title: Ender’s Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Publisher: Tor Teen
Length: 384, Paperback
Genre: Science fiction
Rating: 5 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Once again, Earth is under attack. An alien species is poised for a final assault. The survival of humanity depends on a military genius who can defeat the aliens. But who?
Ender Wiggin. Brilliant. Ruthless. Cunning. A tactical and strategic master. And a child.
Recruited for military training by the world government, Ender’s childhood ends the moment he enters his new home: Battle School. Among the elite recruits Ender proves himself to be a genius among geniuses. He excels in simulated war games. But is the pressure and loneliness taking its toll on Ender? Simulations are one thing. How will Ender perform in real combat conditions? After all, Battle School is just a game. Isn’t it?

Review:
I think my review for this might be a little biased. I read the original short story in my science fiction and fantasy literature course and I wanted to see the difference between that and the novel. I think this review will be biased simply because I can’t help but compare the novel to the short story and the novel is 1000x better.

Ender is a deeply complicated little boy and then teen in this and I love that the novel allows you to see so much more of Ender. The short story gives as little as possible because it needs to meet a word requirement. The fact that the overall story and characters are fleshed out more is amazing and perfect.

The novel has so much feeling in it even if I don’t compare it to the short story. I found myself crying for Ender and even some of the other characters. I was invested and I honestly couldn’t put the book down once I started. I hated having to stop reading it because I needed more.

I also loved being able to see how much Card’s writing had improved from the short story. Card was able to convey what he wanted more clearly but beautifully. I love his simplistic way of writing. It makes this novel and the genre so much more accessible than other of it’s type.

Overall, I can’t really find anything bad to say about the book. I enjoyed it for what it was and I can’t wait to continue the series.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card”

  1. I loved everything about Ender’s story, but I strongly disliked the chapters about Valentina and her brother, and all the politics. For me it was really boring. And also I was a bit down, because I guessed the main plot twist before it actually started. But it was a page turner for me and although some places did let me down, I remember it as a wonderful book.

    During this weekend I at last watched the movie. It was bad. If I wouldn’t have read the book (or would have forgotten what happens there) I would never understand the film.

    Like

    1. That’s awful. I haven’t heard good things about the movie at all. I’ll probably watch just because I like to compare but I don’t have high hopes. I actually enjoyed the parts with Valentine and Peter. I think it sets up for the next in the series and what happens pretty well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, the film was disappointing and I felt a bit like all the money went to get Harrison Ford and the effects, so the rest of the actors and other parts like make-up didn’t seem too good.

        I haven’t gotten to the next books, I think I will sooner read Dune and then get back to this. Long reading list, not enough time. 😦

        I also basically watched the film only to compare, I already knew, that it is supposed to be pretty bad.

        Like

  2. I liked this book very much. Mostly, I was deeply impressed that Card didn’t bottle out and went for the ending which made sense rather than suddenly getting sentimental. It can be brutal, but it is always consistent to the logic and systems of the world he has created.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Once you get into the rest of the series a lot of things you don’t like about previous books come together. Around book 3 there are some slow moments, but once the build begins it is extraordinary.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

