Fantasy, romance, steampunk

Book Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger

wpid-20150720_185007-1.jpg

Title: Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2)
Author: Gail Carriger
Publisher: Orbit
Length: 432, Paperback
Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk, Romance
Rating: 4 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Alexia Maccon, the Lady Woolsey, awakens in the wee hours of the mid-afternoon to find her husband, who should be decently asleep like any normal werewolf, yelling at the top of his lungs. Then he disappears; leaving her to deal with a regiment of supernatural soldiers encamped on her doorstep, a plethora of exorcised ghosts, and an angry Queen Victoria.

But Alexia is armed with her trusty parasol, the latest fashions, and an arsenal of biting civility. So even when her investigations take her to Scotland, the backwater of ugly waistcoats, she is prepared: upending werewolf pack dynamics as only the soulless can. She might even find time to track down her wayward husband, if she feels like it.

Review:
This book made me so incredibly angry. So angry in fact that after finishing this book at about 9:30 at night I couldn’t sleep. I dozed but woke up still super angry and unable to get back to sleep. I had to spoil the third novel in the series for myself just to get some shut eye. That’s how angry this book made me.

I won’t give any spoilers and the part that made me mad is such a shock that even though it made me incredibly angry my anger shouldn’t give an a hint as to happened. That being said, I do suggest NOT reading the blurb to Blameless unless you’ve finished Changeless because the blurb contains said angering thing.

Aside from being incredibly angry at this book I enjoyed the plot. I like the changed dynamic between characters that will go unnamed and even the character development of Alexia and other characters was amazing.

I do think this novel was a lot slower paced which is part of the reason this book didn’t get 5 folded pages. (Did I mention how incredibly angry I am??) I felt like the main action of this novel didn’t nearly equal that of Soulless and I’m saddened by it. I did still enjoy reading it though and aside from the incredibly angering part felt it was a good, solid sequel.

I’ve already ordered the ebook of Blameless from my library’s overdrive because I honestly can’t wait until I’m able to buy the paperbacks or for my library to order a physical copy from another in the system.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger”

  1. I haven’t read the second book yet because I felt the first ended on a satisfactory note for me. But I’m a bit nervous reading this, though curious on what made you so mad?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Legitimately the thing that made me angry is a plot twist in the last 5 pages or so. I don’t want to spoil it. I also thought Soulless ended well and if I hadn’t already bought Changeless I probably wouldnt have read it. I was kind of curious to see how Carriger continued the series.

      Like

  2. I’ve been looking forward to reading this series. Its been on my TBR forever. Now I’m kind of nervous. Hopefully the next book makes everything better. Also, in an unrelated side note, I have those exact same tiles. They came from Target and I got them for my wedding shower 10 years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked everything about this book up until the last 5 pages or so. I think it’s worth it. So far I’m really enjoying blameless too so I wouldn’t let it put you off the series. Also, that’s funny. I got mine 2 or 3 years ago for Christmas.

      Like

Join the discussion!

