Fantasy, middle grade, young adult

Book Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

hp philosopher's stone

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Author: J.K. Rowling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Length: 224, paperback
Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade, Young Adult
Rating: HOW DO YOU RATE HARRY POTTER – ahem – 5 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

Review:
Harry Potter is so iconic that I can’t begin to legitimately review it. Instead this will be insight I gain from rereading the book and a comparison to what I remember of it. This will be very spoilery because I highly doubt there are people who don’t know what happens in Harry Potter even if it’s only from the movies.

Everytime I reread Harry Potter I learn something new both about myself and the books. It’s been a good two years since my last reread. Last time I reread The Philosopher’s Stone I was highly annoyed with the writing. I didn’t think I’d be able to make it through the book. It read too young for me. This time, however, the book was perfect.

I don’t know what’s changed with me between now and then but I know something has because I thoroughly enjoyed my reread. I’m already half way through Chamber of Secrets as I’m writing this one and I’m so glad I’ve chosen to reread the series at this juncture in my life.

Harry Potter is the series that got me into reading. Actually, I hated reading when I was young. It felt tedious and I wondered why people enjoyed it so much. I was almost held back in 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade because I refused to read.

One day during SSR (sustained silent reading) in fifth grade, I picked up Harry Potter because everyone seemed to be reading it and wanted to know what the fuss was all about. Suddenly I knew why everyone loved to read. I read books 1-5 in about 5 months which was miraclous to my teacher considering how she fought with me before this.

Enough with the reminiscing though, I really enjoyed this reread and I can’t wait to continue rereading the series.

1 thought on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling”

Join the discussion!

