picture of the last little blue envelope
contemporary, young adult

Book Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

picture of the last little blue envelope

Title: The Last Little Envelope
Author: Maureen Johnson
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 288 pages, Paperback
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Rating: 4.5 Folded Pages

Note: Haven’t read the first book in this duology? Here’s my review of 13 Little Blue Envelopes.

Warning: Blurb and review may contain spoilers for the first novel in the series!!

Blurb:
Ginny Blackstone spent last summer traveling around Europe, following the tasks her aunt laid out in a series of letters before she died. When someone stole Ginny’s backpack—and the last little blue envelope inside—she resigned herself to never knowing how the adventure was supposed to end.

Now a mysterious boy has contacted Ginny from London, saying he’s found her bag. Finally she can finish what she started. But instead of ending her journey, the last letter starts a whole new one, and Ginny must hold on to her wits . . . and her heart. This time, there are no instructions.

Review:
I loved this book almost as much as the first book. There were a few things that I was kinda eh about but the adventure and emotion was just as present. I actually read the 13 Little Blue Envelopes and The Last Little Blue Envelope back to back I took a break in between to write the review for 13 Little Blue Envelopes and I didn’t want to change it to make it a series review.

Moving on, I loved the new character introduced. He was mysterious but sweet. I hated watching how he was treated. I’m glad Johnson did what she did but some parts were very hard to wach and it made me absolutely hate characters I had liked in the first book. I won’t go further than that.

I do think this book could have had a little more depth. I wanted to see more of the new character and I wanted more interaction between Ginny and new character. I think the book could have done well to be a little longer. I think more depth would have made the ending more plausible and satisfying.

However, other than wanting more depth, I have no complaints. I read this book, like the first, in three hours and loved every second of it.

1 thought on “Book Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson”

Join the discussion!

