fun fact friday

Fun Fact Friday: I go through phases [7]

fun fact friday

This series occurs (almost) every Friday and will feature Fun Facts about me. At the end I will also pose a question or questions to you guys that will relate to my fun fact so I can get to know you better. Feel free join Fun Fact Friday on your own blog and post a link below!! Or just answer in the comments. ๐Ÿ™‚


This week’s Fun Fact:ย I go through phases.

No I don’t mean like physically though that would be hella cool. I mean that for some reason I can’t ever seem to stick to something for very long (aside from writing and music but those have phases within them). I have phases where I play The Sims for hours on end for a month and then I don’t touch the game for year. Or (as you may have noticed) I’m able to read any book I get my hands on. Reading upwards of 10 books a week and then suddenly I’m struggling to read one a week.

It’s been like this my whole life. The first phase I remember having is my A&W Cream Soda phase. I got a rootbeer out of a vending machine once but instead of rootbeer it ended up being cream soda. I was hooked. My mom was constantly buying it for me along with Pepsi lime for herself. I drank almost nothing but cream soda when I visited her on weekends. Definitely not my healthiest phase and it lasted for about half a year.

I’ve always had cereal phases. I have cereals I love for about 4-6 months and then it changes. Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Frosted Flakes, Captain Crunch (this phase never lasts long because it hurts the roof of my mouth), Special K, Cinnamon Bunches of Oats, and so on and so forth.

I have phases of extreme video games, and no video games. Extreme Korean drama watching and not watching anything at all. I have phases where I love watching movies and then phases where I absolutely no matter what can not seem to sit still or be bothered to try to watch a movie.

Sometimes I enjoy that I’m constantly flitting from thing to thing. And mostly I have set phases that I switch between. Reading to shows to movies to videos games and back to reading or something like that. But most times, I’m extremely frustrated with myself. I’d love to be able to stick to one or two things and do them consistently in moderation instead of having these over the top phases where I want to do nothing but my particular phase for that time.

This post is more about my frustration than a fun fact but I wanted to share and get it out somewhere. No one really understands my phases. Hell I don’t really understand them but I figured if there was anyone, anywhere who could relate it’d be on the internet. Though it now occurs to me that these phases could be part of what makes me bipolar. The phases being different expressions of my manic periods. But that seems a little too Meta for me today.


So, do you have phases? What are your phases like? Do you enjoy it? If you don’t have phases, how do you keep the things you love doing fresh?

2 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday: I go through phases [7]”

Join the discussion!

