fun fact friday

Fun Fact Friday: Analog Sci-Fi lit mag [8]

fun fact friday

This series occurs (almost) every Friday and will feature Fun Facts about me. At the end I will also pose a question or questions to you guys that will relate to my fun fact so I can get to know you better. Feel free join Fun Fact Friday on your own blog and post a link below!! Or just answer in the comments. πŸ™‚


This week’s (maybe not super) Fun Fact:Β I have a bunch of Analog: Science Fiction and Fact magazines that I pulled from my Great Grandma’s house after she passed away.

Okay, so I know that this week’s and last week’s fun facts haven’t been so fun but I promise this does get fun!!

A little over a year ago my Great Grandma passed away. She was 93 and lived a long, very happy life constantly surrounded by her daughter, her grand kids, and great grand kids. She, like me, loved to read anything she got her hands on and was a subscriber of the literary magazine Analog: Science Fiction and Fact.

Anyone, when she was on hospice in a nursing home and it was clear she wasn’t going to be coming home, my grandma started going through her house. It started with cleaning it and seeing what was around. Eventually she asked everyone to come over to see if they wanted anything. (a little morbid but my great grandma would have been furious if we didn’t)

Anyway, I poured over all her old books. Aside from the magazines I nabbed (which span from 2011 to about June 2015 because my grandma couldn’t be bother to cancel the subscription), I also got really old copies of the Iliad and the Odyssey (let me know if you guys may want to see pictures some time of any of these books I’m mentioning). Some special editions of Alice in Wonderland and The Wizard of Oz. Β I got The Tree of Life, a book that talks about different religions and philosophies and how they fit together. The complete works of Edgar Allan Poe and a book on the Middle ages. I also grabbed a few of her writing books. The Key: How to Write Damn Good Fiction Using the Power of Myth and The Writer’s Complete Fantasy Reference.

However, it’s the magazines that really fascinate me. In the time I was getting the things from her house I was in a Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature course. I knew had would have to write a term paper on a work of my choosing and I thought about using Analog. This, sadly, didn’t happen because I just didn’t have time to comb through all the magazines to see if there was a worthy thesis hidden in any of the stories or a group of the stories.

Instead, these gorgeous lit mags have been sitting on my shelves unread and unloved. I want to change that. I keep meaning to read them but something is stopping me and what’s stopping me (right now) is Β that I want to make my reading useful. I want to be able to add it to this blog. So I have a question for you guys???

How would you feel about Sci-Fi Sunday being a thing? Every week (or maybe every two I haven’t decided) I will read one of the Analog magazines I have and write a post about it. I might end up doing it regardless of feedback but I thought it’d be nice to see what you guys might thing.

I know this is a long drawn out post. Sorry about that. But I really want to know what you guys think.


Aside from wondering if you guys like Sci-Fi Sunday…(please let me know!!) Have any you been given something from a passing relative? Have you ever stumbled upon old books or literary magazines?Β 

Join the discussion!

