nanowrimo2015

NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #1: Boring story is boring???

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerWell. It was going well for about the first two days. I’m at 5,409 words. Today’s word goal is 8,333 so I’m roughly 3000 words behind. I’m struggling because suddenly the story I’m writing is boring me. I’m not sure how to make it interesting.

Basically it’s a New Adult Romance. My MC is Min Seo. She’s from Chicago and her parents migrated here before she was born. She likes to make intricate plans but tends to forget one important piece that gets her into trouble.

My novel opens when she reaches a part in her plan of how to get to her school in rural Illinois from Chicago. The guy I planned as her love interest (LI) saves her from the situation.

So far in the story I’ve just introduced other characters. Her friend group, how LI stays in her world, and a bit more about her.

But idk, it’s just kind of boring. Maybe it’s the set up, maybe it’s the characters, maybe it’s the whole thing. I’m not sure and it’s really bumming me out. :/

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!! Other comments welcome, too. 🙂 Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? How’s it going for you?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 Update #1: Boring story is boring???”

  1. Are you writing it from single first-person point of view? If you are, could you switch to a different character’s POV? I find it’s a bit like a rest if I’ve been stuck with one character for a while (this is true even though I write in third person). It gives you the chance to come at events from a different angle, particularly if the secondary character is more exciting than your MC.

    Alternatively, can you do something catastrophic just for something dramatic to write about (even if you delete it later)? Earthquake? Car crash?

    Don’t worry about word counts 🙂 I’m only on 5000 too. If you can write anything you should be pleased. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

