Fairytale Retelling, Fantasy, romance, young adult

Book Review: Beauty by Robin McKinley

544891

Title: Beastly
Author: Alex Flinn
Publisher: HarperTeen
Length: 336 pages, Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Fairytale retelling
Rating: 4 Folded Pages

Blurb:
I am a beast. A beast! Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright. I am a monster.
You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll,stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.
Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

Review:
This is another reread for me. As I’ve said many times on this blog, 2015 has been all about rereading. I definitely enjoyed this reread almost as much as reading it the first time around. Almost. I think I’m starting to get too old for YA because I find the characters more annoying than I used to.

Anyway, Kyle was very annoying at the beginning of the book and his annoyingness went up and down as the book continued. I suppose part of that is the point but I still felt like he didn’t change much. He was still very selfish even if he learned how to be kind of not selfish.

I also found aspects of this story entirely too creepy. I understand that Flinn had to find a way for Lindy to stay with him but the watching thing was super weird. Maybe it was just me but it wigged me out a bit.

As always, Flinn’s writing is great. It has great flow and enough challenge to keep me interested without getting boring. I like the way she words her sentences.

I can’t help but compare it to the movie. I watched it a while ago on Netflix and I cringe at how much they changed. Like the Beast wasn’t actually a Beast but just deformed. They definitely took a liberty there. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a different version aside from the movie cover book so that’s what I’m stuck with for the time being.
Either way, as far as retellings go this is a solid, modern version that I really enjoyed. Nothing will stand up to Beauty by Robin McKinley for me but this is still pretty high on the list of Beauty and the Beast retellings I’ve read.

Join the discussion!

