DNF'd Books

DNF’d books [1]

Normally even if I don’t finish a book I review it but only ifย I feel like I’ve gotten far enough into the novel that I can give an accurate review regardless of whether or not I legitimately finished it. However, there have been a few novels (I won’t say recently but in the not too distant past) where I couldn’t finish them despite several attempts or even get far enough that I feel I could give an accurate review. Here they are.

Click book covers to go to it’s Goodreads page.


wpid-20150717_194425-1.jpg

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I’ve tried reading this at least 6-7 times and I get a little further each time but still I just can’t get through it. I don’t think I ever will to be honest. This book is just not for me.

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

I really wanted to like this book. I follow the author on twitter and she’s super sweet and the premise sounded really cool but the book was so hard to get into. The first 30 pages I enjoyed but then the story got hard to follow and the MC was annoying and inconsistent. I just couldn’t force myself past page 71.

The Void by J.D. Horn (Savannah Witching #3)

I don’t know what happened with this book but it felt like Horn just dropped the ball on it. I could hardly put down The Source and The Line but this one was difficult to get passed the first chapter. Honestly I’m pretty sure I was done with it when I found an obvious typo in the first paragraph of the book. I couldn’t get through more than 2 chapters before I decided to call it quits. I might try picking this one up again but it’s doubtful.

Withering Tights by Louis Rennison

I wanted to like this series and even bought all three novels in the series. However, when I picked this up and started reading it became instantly clear this would not be for me. It’s written in 14 year old stream of thought. I felt like I was reading stuff I wrote to my friends on IM when I was 12. I just couldn’t get threw it. Which is a shame since the second and third novels are based on my two Shakespeare plays. Alas, I will just have to live.

17333279

Gone by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

Ultimately, I blame this book for throwing me into my 2 and a half month book slump. I was forcing myself to read it for the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge. It was the book my stepmom picked as her favorite and I’ve decided I just can’t do it. It was SO BORING. I couldn’t bring myself to care about it. But I also HAD to finish it for the challenge and I didn’t want to not finish and forcing myself to continue trying to read it did not work. It’s on this list now and it’s helped me learn not to force what I read even if it’s for a challenge. So at least there’s that.

9 thoughts on “DNF’d books [1]”

      1. Absolutely, I really enjoy your blog. No pressure, I know some people don’t really like answering all the questions and others (like me) are super busy. Happy reading!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. What you said about Withering Tights by Louis Rennison is exactly why I haven’t picked it up. I really enjoyed her Georgia Nicholson novels but I feel like I read those at the right time (ie I was a teen like the lead) and so I loved and could handle the thoughts and actions of the characters. But now that I’m in my 20s, I think that is one series I’m going to have to shelf away and not read.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

