Manga, romance

Manga Review: Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama by Hiro Fujiwara

6081685
Title: Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama (The President is a Maid) Volumes 1-7
Author: Hiro Fujiwara
Publisher: Tokyopop
Length: ~200 pages each
Genre: Manga, Shoujo, Romance, Slice of Life
Rating: 4 Folded Pages

Blurb:
Brilliant and overachieving, Misaki Ayuzawa is the President of the Student Council at Seika High School, formerly a boys’ school. Unfortunately, most of the students are still male and stuck in their slovenly habits, so man-hating Misaki really socks it to ’em in an attempt to make the school presentable to attract more female students. But what will she do when the sexiest boy in school finds out that after school, Misaki works in a maid cafe.

Review:
I’m not sure if many people know this but I subscribe to so many fandoms it’s hard to count. One of those fandoms is anime and manga. I’ve been in the mood for Manga recently but find a new one to read is always difficult. I’m very picky with manga because I can’t read it for very long. It’s fun but long on going series bore me and short one offs don’t seem to be worth it. Instead of searching for something I didn’t know if I’d like, I decided to pick up the manga of one of my favorite animes.

Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama is considered a shoujo manga. Basically it’s written for females and typically focuses on some completely unrealistic romance. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine if I’m honest. Most shoujo manga/anime isn’t very feminist. The male characters usually land somewhere on the spectrum of douchey/controlling that in a real person would be absolutely appalling but I can’t help but love when it comes to the media I consume.

Misaki is adorable and fun. She’s very hardworking but also a little clueless and naive. She’s very smart book wise but not so much street wise and it’s endearing. I love watching her interact with the world Fujiwara has created.

Thankfully, Usui, the main male protagonist doesn’t fall into the douche type too much. He’s fiercely protective and a little bit controlling but for the most part I wouldn’t consider him douchey. He’s cute and funny and I mean, look at how he looks at Misaki.

Usui

The whole premise of this manga is that Misaki works at a maid cafe even though she’s a hard ass as student council president at school and Usui discovers it. The high jinks, fun, and romance ensue from there.

The art style is really detailed and fun. It can be so pretty but also so adorable. I love how versatile manga artwork as a whole is and Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama is no different.

I loved reading this manga even if the anime seems to closely follow it. It’s fun and cute and the perfect lightweight romance to help balance out all the hardcore fantasy I’ve been reading recently.

I can’t give it 5 folded pages only because there are some aspects I’m not okay with as a feminist and woman, but I will unapologetically love what I love even if it’s problematic.

2 thoughts on “Manga Review: Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama by Hiro Fujiwara”

Join the discussion!

