Uncategorized

Book Review: Coming in from the Cold by Sarina Bowen

24917521

Title: Coming in from the Cold
Author: Sarina Bowen
Publisher: Rennie Road Books;
Length: 246 Pages, Ebook
Genre: Romance
Rating: 4.5 Folded Pages

Warning: This book is not for those under 18 since it includes explicit scenes.

Blurb:
He can’t have her. And he can’t tell anyone why.

Ski racer Dane “Danger” Hollister does not do relationships, though he keeps his reason a secret. The real-life curse he’s inherited from his mother will eventually cost him everything: his place on the Olympic ski team, his endorsement income, and his ability to fly downhill at top speed.

Reluctant country girl Willow Reade meets Dane by accident. Literally. Her skidding truck forces him off the road during a blizzard. Stranded together in his Jeep as night falls, the two loneliest people in Vermont find themselves sharing more than they’d planned. And not just conversation.

Yet neither can guess how their unlikely tryst will threaten Dane’s frightening secret and Willow’s tentative peace with her own choices. Only mutual trust and understanding can end their pain and give them a hard won shot at love.

Review:
I was scrolling through Tumblr the other day when I happened to see someone I follow recommend Bowen’s books. I was in the mood for a good new adult-esque romance so I picked this up. It’s currently free on Amazon, as an ebook, so I had nothing to lose.

Willow is very relatable. She’s been given a kind of tough lot in life and she makes do with what she has. She also isn’t annoying and didn’t try forcing herself on Dane. Dane had his moments. Sometimes I really liked him and sometimes I really didn’t. But I think that’s what the author wanted and it made his character more interesting.

The writing was good. I’m not sure why but I tend to expect bad writing in free ebooks. It’s an (unjustified, probably) expectation I go into free ebooks with but I can’t seem to help it. Bowen’s writing, however, is my favorite kind of writing. Just descriptive enough to let you get an image in your mind without being so descriptive that it disrupts the flow of reading.

If I had to say one bad thing about this book, it’s that I don’t quite care for how Bowen builds suspense in it. This is the first book I’ve read by her so maybe it’s just this particular story, but I found it annoying rather than suspenseful.

Either way this book was a super quick read. I finished it the same day I started it and it has definitely put me in the mood for more like it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Coming in from the Cold by Sarina Bowen”

Join the discussion!

